TimePreserver Price: US$24.99/Free

Step-by-step Walkthrough

This is an example walkthrough of updating an archive in TimePreserver.

  1. TimePreserver has one main window which opens at the start. All normal operations happen in this window.

  2. The Time Machine Server menu lists all the Time Capsules (or other Time Machine Servers) TimePreserver finds on the network. For each Time Capsule a list of the disks is listed under its name.

    Select the Time Capsule disk you wish to archive.

  3. After a source is selected TimePreserver updates the Archive Destination menu to only include those disks capable of storing the archive. For example, a disk will not be listed if has insufficient capacity or does not support some filesystem feature required. Network disks and non-Mac formatted disks will only be listed if they are enabled in Preferences and they are compatible with the selected source.

    Select the destination and then the Archive button.

  4. You are now presented with an operation confirmation window. The content of this window will vary slightly depending on the operation requested (updating an existing archive, creating a new one, etc.), this includes the name of “confirmation” button.

    In this case the request is to update an existing archive, selecting the Update button will commence the operation.

  5. TimePreserver reports its progress during the operation. Determining in advance how much data needs to be transferred would be time-consuming, so instead TimePreserver estimates as it goes and uses a progress bar - which will sometimes be indeterminate.

    Above the progress bar are up to two lines of status; the first indicates which Time Machine backup is currently being archived, the second which phase of the archive operation is underway. The progress bar starts at zero for each Time Machine backup.

    Below the progress bar is a numeric status area:

    Reclamied:
    The amount of out-of-date data deleted from the destination.
    Copied:
    The amount of new and modified data copied from the source.
    Time:
    The total elapsed time.
    Scanned:
    The number of items scanned.
  6. On completion the total amount of space reclaimed, data copied, items scanned, and time taken are shown. Select the Quit to finish.